ExamsNation is India's leading online learning portal. Get Latest Exam news, Private & Government Job Alerts and Free Study Materials for Exam preparations.

PSAT/NMSQT Exam Dates, Syllabus

The PSAT/NMSQT, also known as the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test or National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test is an exam that students of high school can take to qualify for a National Merit Scholarship. PSAT is considered the practice version of the SAT Exam. Students of Grades 10 & 12 can take the PSAT to familiarise and prepare themselves for the SAT Exam.

What national exam is the PSAT aligned with?

PSAT is aligned with the SAT Exam as it is just a preliminary version of the SAT and is expected to have the same pattern as the SAT Exam. You can consider PSAT as the practice test for the SAT Exam if you will sit for the SAT Exam in future. However, as an added benefit, If you score high on the PSAT, you could qualify for the National Merit Scholarship for your undergraduate study.

PSAT/NMSQT Test Dates 2023

PSAT/NMSQT tests will be administered on the School Days between October 2-October 31, 2023.

PSAT Syllabus

The PSAT/NMSQT is conducted for 2 hours and 14 minutes and consists of 2 sections: (1) the Reading and Writing Section, and (2) the Math Section. Most of the questions are multiple-choice, except for some math questions for which you will be required to write the answer.

The following table shows how much time you get for each section and the number of questions for each test:

SectionLength (minutes)Number of Questions/Tasks
Reading and Writing6454

How Many Times Can You Take the PSAT?

You can take the PSAT from your 8th grade onwards. However, only your score on PSAT/NMSQT taken in 11th grade will be considered for the National Merit Scholarship competition. Taking the PSAT Exam as many times as you like will help you prepare for the SAT Exam

PSAT/NMSQT Exam Dates, Syllabus
Scroll to top