Get Latest Exam news, Private & Government Job Alerts and Free Study Materials for Exam preparations.

Important Treaties in the history of India

Treaty is a formal written agreement made between two or more parties. Treaties are signed between countries in the international arena. In the History of India, there had been several treaties signed between the rulers of different dynasties.

Name of the TreatyYearAbout the Treaty
Treaty of Purandar 1665The Treaty of Purandar was signed in 1665 between the Rajput ruler Jai Singh I, who was commander of the Mughal Empire, and Maratha Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj.
Treaty of Alinagar1757The Treaty of Alinagar was signed in 1757 between Robert Clive of the British East India Company and the Nawab of Bengal, Siraj Ud Daula.
Treaty of Allahabad1765The Treaty of Allahabad was signed in 1765, between the Mughal Emperor Shah Alam II, son of the late Emperor Alamgir II, and Lord Robert Clive, of the East India Company, as an outcome of the Battle of Buxar of 1764.
Treaty of Purandar 1776The Treaty of Purandar was a doctrine signed in 1776 by the Peshwa of the Maratha people and the government of the British East India Company in Calcutta.
Treaty of Wadgaon 1779In the First Anglo-Maratha War in 1779, Mahadhji Shinde joined the Maratha forces and defeated the British. As a result, the British signed the treaty of Wadgaon as per the terms of the Marathas. But this treaty was held invalid by Warren Hastings and a new treaty called the Treaty of Salbai was signed between the British and the Marathas.
Treaty of Salbai1782The Treaty of Salbai was signed in 1782 between the Maratha Empire and the British East India Company to settle the First Anglo- Maratha War. Under its terms, the Company retained control of Salsette and Broach.
Treaty of Seringapatam 1792The Treaty of Seringapatam was signed between Lord Cornwallis on behalf of the British East India Company, representatives of the Nizam of Hyderabad and the Maratha Empire, and Tipu Sultan, the ruler of Mysore. It ended the third Anglo-Mysore War.
Treaty of Lahore 1846The Treaty of Lahore was signed between Governor-General Sir Henry Hardinge on behalf of the British and members of the Lahore Durbar acting on behalf of seven-year-old Maharaja Duleep Singh Bahadur. This treaty marked the end of the First Anglo-Sikh War.
Treaty of Amritsar1846The Treaty of Amritsar was signed in 1846 which formalised the arrangements in the Treaty of Lahore between the British East India Company and Maharaja Gulab Singh Dogra after the First Anglo-Sikh War
Battles in Indian History

Battles in Indian History

In Indian history, there are a number of remarkable battles that have left an indelible mark on the subcontinent’s destiny. In this […]