Get Latest Exam news, Private & Government Job Alerts and Free Study Materials for Exam preparations.

Draupadi Murmu elected as the 15th President of India

Draupadi Murmu is elected as the 15th President of India. In the voting counting that was held today, Draupadi Murmu received 2,824 votes, the value of which is 6,76,803 which crossed the halfway mark to comfortably defeat her opponent, Mr Yashwant Sinha, with a wide margin.

Draupadi Murmu was born on 20 June 1958 at Uparbeda in Mayurbhanj from the Stae of Odissa. She was a member of the Odisha Legislative Assembly from 5 March 2000 – 21 May 2009. She was a Minister of Commerce and Transport Transport from 2000 to 2002, and Minister of Fisheries and Animal Resources Development from 2022 to 2004 in the state of Odisha.

Draupadi Murmu was also the 9th Governor of Jharkhand from 18 May 2015 to 12 July 2021. Draupadi Murmu will swear in as the 15th President of India on 25th July 2022, meanwhile the tenure of the current President of India, Shri Ram Nath Govind ends today 21st July 2022.