Centre Exempts HNBGU and Northeast Universities from CUET UG 2023

CUET UG 2023: The Ministry of Education (MoE) has exempted the central universities in the northeastern region and HNBGU, Uttarakhand from taking admissions through Common University Entrance Test (CUET) UG 2023. These universities were also allowed to conduct direct admissions last year. 

The Centre, in a letter to the registrars of the exempted universities, attributed the decision to “limited digital connectivity and infrastructure”. The Meghalaya CM had approached the Centre in this regard, on March 12.

The central universities including Sikkim University, Rajiv Gandhi University, Manipur University, Assam University, Tezpur University, Nagaland University, Tripura University, Mizoram University, North Eastern Hill University (NEHU), and Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University (HNBGU) Uttarakhand have been exempted from CUET this year.

Meghalaya CM K Sangma took to Twitter to thank Dharmendra Pradhan for considering his request.