Get Latest Exam news, Private & Government Job Alerts and Free Study Materials for Exam preparations.

ASEAN UPSC Topic Key Points

ASEAN is an acronym for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations. Presently, It has 10 member countries from Southeast Asia.

ASEAN overview for UPSC Preparation

ASEAN Founded on: August 8, 1967

Headquarters: Jakarta, Indonesia

No of Member States: 10

ASEAN Head: H.E. Dato Lim Jock Hoi, Secretary-General of ASEAN

When was ASEAN Founded?

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was founded on August 8, 1967, after 5 countries from southeast Asia namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand signed the ASEAN Declaration.

Why was ASEAN Formed?

As per the ASEAN Declaration signed,

  • The Southeast Asian Nations formed ASEAN to promote economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region and promote regional peace and stability through joint endeavours in the spirit of equality and partnership in order to strengthen the foundation for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian Nations;
  • promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law in the relationship among countries of the region and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter;
  • promote active collaboration and mutual assistance on matters of common interest in the economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and administrative fields;
  • provide assistance to each other in the form of training and research facilities in the educational, professional, technical and administrative spheres;
  • collaborate more effectively to encourage further growth in the agriculture and industry and trade sectors. This includes improving transportation and communications facilities and conducting studies on international commodity trade with the overarching goal of raising the living standards of ASEAN peoples;
  • promote Southeast Asian studies; and maintain close and beneficial cooperation with existing international and regional organisations with similar aims and purposes, and explore all avenues for even closer cooperation among themselves.

India-ASEAN Relations

India has been in an active partnership with ASEAN since the 1990s centering on India’s Look East Policy. India has become a Sectoral Partner of ASEAN in 1992, Dialogue Partner in 1996 and Submit Level Partner in 2006.

There are in total 30 dialogue mechanisms between Indian and ASEAN, working across various sectors.

The Strategic relationship between India and ASEAN focuses on Peace, Progress and Shared Prosperity.

In 2012, the Commemorative Summit was held in New Delhi for the 20 years of dialogue partnership, and 10 years of summit-level partnership between India and ASEAN. At the summit, the leaders from ASEAN and India had come up with India-ASEAN vision statement for the long-term ASEAN-India engagement.

With respect to the ASEAN-India Vision statement, a plan of action (POA) was adopted that focuses on engagement between ASEAN-India for Political-Security Cooperation, Economic cooperation, Socia-Cultural Cooperation, Connectivity, and funds.

Frequently Asked Questions about ASEAN

What is the Full form of ASEAN?

Association of Southeast Asian Nations

Who are the member countries of ASEAN?

Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam

Is India part of ASEAN countries?

India is not a member country of the Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN).