12 Rajya Sabha MPs Suspended for entire winter session for ruckus in Parliament

The Rajya Sabha on the first day for the Winter Session on Monday suspended 12 Rajya sabha members, including Shiv Sena MP Priyanka Chaturvedi and Trinamool MP Dola Sen, for the remaining part of the current session. Disciplinary action has been taken against 12 MPs for creating ruckus in the Rajya Sabha on the last day of the monsoon session held previously. Apart from Priyanka Chaturvedi and Dona Sen, MPs who have been suspended on Monday are Elamaram Kareem (CPM), Congress’s Phulo Devi Netam, Chhaya Verma, R Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain, Akhilesh Prasad Singh, CPI’s Binoy Viswam, TMC’s Shanta Chhetri and Shiv Sena’s Anil Desai.

The MPs have lowered the dignity of the House by unprecedented acts of misconduct through their violent behaviour and ‘intentional attacks’ on security personnel on the last day of the monsoon session on August 11, the suspension notice said.